Being the Official Discussion Forum for Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea™

Visit us at the HYPERBOREA web site!

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

12/08/2017 11:38 pm  #1

A question about AC

Natural AC is 9. Does armor adds a bonus or armor has it's own AC?

A PC with padded armor is AC 8, but how about an orc, who is natural AC 6? Does a padded armor worsen his AC from 6 to 8 (unlikeley), does he is still AC 6 (doesn't make sense), or does he get a bonus, thus being now AC 5?

And what if the same orc is wearing a Full Plate armor (AC 1)? Is he now AC -2?

"All suns are grasped within the hollow hand
Of Night, the godhead sole, omnipotent.
Whose other names are Nemesis and Fate."

12/09/2017 12:16 am  #2

Re: A question about AC

As a general (unofficial) rule of thumb, an unarmoured orc is AC 6, an orc in leather or studded armour might be AC 5, and an orc in (orcish) plate mail would be AC 4. Were an orc to be girded in manmade full plate armour, it would be AC 1.


Board footera

“Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea”, “AS&SH”, and all other North Wind Adventures product names and their respective logos are trademarks of North Wind Adventures, LLC in the USA and other countries. ©2019 North Wind Adventures, LLC.