Hmmm. So, a character with an 18 strength and 17 dex wielding Wc2/Wc1 would actually attack at -2/-2? So he'd in effect have an additional -2 to hit? If that's the case, high strength characters should never dual wield.
My players who like to dual wield have learned to be tactical, because it's not so cut and dry. When going one on one with a challenging foe, it may not be wise to dual wield, as you suggest, JRR. But, when facing multiple lesser foes, the extra attack, despite the penalties, is often worth it, especially if your group embraces the optional critical hit rules.