AS&SH Errata

Skip to: New Posts  Last Post
Page:
Posted by DMPrata
10/05/2017 7:30 pm
#81

Ynas Midgard wrote:

Is it an oversight or is the Huntsman's Ambusher ability not supposed to grant the bonus to the rest of the party after preparation (like how the Barbarian's and the Ranger's ability work)?

Not an oversight; the huntsman’s ambusher ability is slightly different. He’s a little more opportunistic, and also more likely to work alone.

​(For those curious about such matters, a check of my archives shows that I added that ability to the huntsman in draft 9 of VOL. I in April 2016; by the end, VOL. I saw 55 drafts. I don’t recall if I added it on my own, or at Jeff’s direction.)

Last edited by DMPrata (10/05/2017 7:33 pm)

 
Posted by grodog
10/12/2017 8:56 pm
#82

David---

Should we discover an erratum in ASSH2, should we post it here, or will you be starting a new thread?

Allan.

 
Posted by Ynas Midgard
10/13/2017 6:12 am
#83

Thanks for the clarification, DMPrata!

 
Posted by DMPrata
10/13/2017 11:31 pm
#84

grodog wrote:

David---

Should we discover an erratum in ASSH2, should we post it here, or will you be starting a new thread?

Allan.

Allan, I’m going to naively believe that a new errata thread won’t be necessary. If you simply must burst my bubble, then please feel free to post any new findings in this thread. As usual, everything good about the new book is Jeff’s work, and anything wrong with it is mine.

 
Posted by Ghul
10/14/2017 9:26 pm
#85

DMPrata wrote:

grodog wrote:

David---

Should we discover an erratum in ASSH2, should we post it here, or will you be starting a new thread?

Allan.

Allan, I’m going to naively believe that a new errata thread won’t be necessary. If you simply must burst my bubble, then please feel free to post any new findings in this thread. As usual, everything good about the new book is Jeff’s work, and anything wrong with it is mine.

To edit is divine! ;)
 


HYPERBOREA- A Role-Playing Game of Swords, Sorcery, and Weird Science-Fantasy
 
Posted by gizmomathboy
4/21/2019 7:46 pm
#86

ASSH 2e, page 73 of Players Manual, Also in Volume 1.

For Priests of Apollo

1st Level: May select one additional weapon skill with bow of choice (self or composite).

I'm guessing "self" should be "short".

I think I only found this because I'm doing a hobby project to create a pc generation program and I'm creating all the tables I think I need. Goodness is it tedious (and I'm maybe half way through the Abilities stuff and I am not including these optional Priest Abilities).

Last edited by gizmomathboy (4/21/2019 7:47 pm)


What? Me worry?
 
Posted by Blackadder23
4/21/2019 11:19 pm
#87

gizmomathboy wrote:

ASSH 2e, page 73 of Players Manual, Also in Volume 1.

For Priests of Apollo

1st Level: May select one additional weapon skill with bow of choice (self or composite).

I'm guessing "self" should be "short".

I think I only found this because I'm doing a hobby project to create a pc generation program and I'm creating all the tables I think I need. Goodness is it tedious (and I'm maybe half way through the Abilities stuff and I am not including these optional Priest Abilities).

A self bow is one made of a single piece of wood - not laminated from multiple materials like a composite bow. I assumed that was the distinction Jeff was making here (i.e., "self" is the opposite of "composite" when speaking about bows).
 


Michael Sipe 1979-2018
Rest in peace, brother.
 
Posted by gizmomathboy
4/22/2019 8:07 am
#88

Blackadder23 wrote:

gizmomathboy wrote:

ASSH 2e, page 73 of Players Manual, Also in Volume 1.

For Priests of Apollo

1st Level: May select one additional weapon skill with bow of choice (self or composite).

I'm guessing "self" should be "short".

I think I only found this because I'm doing a hobby project to create a pc generation program and I'm creating all the tables I think I need. Goodness is it tedious (and I'm maybe half way through the Abilities stuff and I am not including these optional Priest Abilities).

A self bow is one made of a single piece of wood - not laminated from multiple materials like a composite bow. I assumed that was the distinction Jeff was making here (i.e., "self" is the opposite of "composite" when speaking about bows).
 

I could go along with that but why not say "any bow" when that is what would be the effect?

Of the bows listed in the book there are:

Long Bow
Short Bow
Long Composite Bow
Short Composite Bow

Long Bow and Short Bow would be assumed to be "self" bows but that isn't stated explicitly.

As I am not the author I am probably wrong.


What? Me worry?
 
Posted by mabon5127
4/22/2019 8:59 am
#89

Maybe excluding crossbows as they dont fit the Apollo model.


“How can I wear the harness of toil
And sweat at the daily round,
While in my soul forever
The drums of Pictdom sound?” 
 
Posted by gizmomathboy
4/22/2019 11:31 am
#90

mabon5127 wrote:

Maybe excluding crossbows as they dont fit the Apollo model.

I definitely think that is the intent of the rule, but I think it gets a bit lost in the language.

I love rich language usage but in some cases it gets in the way of clarity. A self bow isn't mentioned anywhere else in the player volumes.

So, not a typo but something that might trip up folks.


What? Me worry?
 
Posted by DMPrata
4/22/2019 5:10 pm
#91

gizmomathboy wrote:

mabon5127 wrote:

Maybe excluding crossbows as they dont fit the Apollo model.

I definitely think that is the intent of the rule, but I think it gets a bit lost in the language.

I love rich language usage but in some cases it gets in the way of clarity. A self bow isn't mentioned anywhere else in the player volumes.

So, not a typo but something that might trip up folks.

This was indeed the intent. Blame the editor for lack of clarity.

 
Posted by gizmomathboy
10/18/2019 11:47 am
#92

I'm not sure I would really call this errata, but something I came across when making a change to my PC generator app.

It of course deals with the class with a lot of...exceptions. I am talkin' 'bout the runegraver.

Definitely the least traditional of spell casters.

The bit I had to code around and change some stuff with really dealt with spell descriptions. Specifically with each spell's level.

Initially, I just took whatever from the list in my data file. Eventually I just added in an entry for runegraver. It just made things easier.

As I wrote, I don't think it rises to the level of errata, but maybe something to add in whenever the pdf gets updated and such. I think the class description handles it just fine.


What? Me worry?
 
Posted by shankspeare
4/04/2021 12:52 pm
#93

Got that bundle of holding yesterday and caught a small typo in Forgotten Fane pdf.

Pg. 4 right under the table of contents in the first paragraph on the right side, second line.:

"of Lemurian splendour and tthe wealth"

 
Posted by Ghul
4/05/2021 10:12 am
#94

shankspeare wrote:

Got that bundle of holding yesterday and caught a small typo in Forgotten Fane pdf.

Pg. 4 right under the table of contents in the first paragraph on the right side, second line.:

"of Lemurian splendour and tthe wealth"

Thanks. I have an errata sheet for when we eventually reprint the modules.
 


HYPERBOREA- A Role-Playing Game of Swords, Sorcery, and Weird Science-Fantasy
 
Posted by drablak
5/02/2021 12:13 pm
#95

I'm not sure if this has been reported before (I searched but couldn't find it): in the Cryomancer Spell list p.144, in the second level spells, Cool Metal should come after Continuous Light.

 
Posted by gizmomathboy
5/05/2021 6:09 pm
#96

In Rats in the Walls and Other Perils.

Tull Kamtose has a listed AC of -1, but I think it should be 0.

The ring of protection gives AC 2.

The 18 DX give +2 to that resulting in 0.

I don't see anything else to give him that extra AC boost.


What? Me worry?
 
Posted by Ghul
5/06/2021 9:45 am
#97

gizmomathboy wrote:

In Rats in the Walls and Other Perils.

Tull Kamtose has a listed AC of -1, but I think it should be 0.

The ring of protection gives AC 2.

The 18 DX give +2 to that resulting in 0.

I don't see anything else to give him that extra AC boost.

You made me look. You are correct, sir! Good catch. ;)
 


HYPERBOREA- A Role-Playing Game of Swords, Sorcery, and Weird Science-Fantasy
 
Posted by gizmomathboy
5/06/2021 1:56 pm
#98

I only double checked myself because one of my gaming groups might jump him. They bungled the heist he gave them, ran away for 2 months, came back, and he told them to get the pendant "or else end up like the one you gave me" :-)

I don't think they are *that* suicidal, but you never know

Last edited by gizmomathboy (5/06/2021 1:57 pm)


What? Me worry?
 


Page:

 
Main page
Login
Desktop format