Being the Official Discussion Forum for Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea™


Visit us at the HYPERBOREA web site!

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

General Discussion » Introduction Thread » 10/19/2016 3:50 pm

JRR
Replies: 536

Go to post

I registered to ask a rules question, but I bought ASSH because it stands out from all the retro clones.  Most OSR games are just a method for preserving rulesets and using them as a springboard to publish settings and supplements without crossing into copyright infringement.  Osric and Swords and Wizardry are awesome, but for an old fart like me, I'd rather play the original.  ASSH is its own game outright while sticking close enough to 1E to scratch an itch.  Looking forward to running a game, and selfishly, I hope to turn my group on to it, so that I can actually PLAY it.  So, if my evil plan succeeds, the good folks at North Wind Adventures will get 4 or 5 sales out of it. 

General Discussion » Introduction Thread » 10/17/2016 8:42 pm

JRR
Replies: 536

Go to post

     Hi,  I've been gaming since 1981.  Got out of the hobby in the 90s, when my group dwindled to nothing,  came back with 3rd edition D&D, bounced around a dozen gaming systems before returning to my roots and 1st edition.  I stumbled across ASSH and just about fell in love.  I'm currently looking through the pdf and brainstorming for campaign ideas.  I'll probably ask a million rules questions.  Can't wait to start a game!

Rules Discussion » Two-Weapon Combat » 10/17/2016 3:47 pm

JRR
Replies: 5

Go to post

Hmmm.  So, a character with an 18 strength and 17 dex wielding Wc2/Wc1 would actually attack at -2/-2?  So he'd in effect have an additional -2 to hit?  If that's the case, high strength characters should never dual wield. 

Sorcery » Exploding skull? » 10/17/2016 1:22 pm

JRR
Replies: 8

Go to post

Wow, I read that at least a dozen times and missed the duration.  Thanks. 

Since the damage is negative energy, I assume it won't damage undead?  Could a necromancer send in a horde of skeletons to attack his enemies and then toss a grenade in the midst without harming his minions?

Sorcery » Exploding skull? » 10/17/2016 12:18 pm

JRR
Replies: 8

Go to post

There is no duration listed for exploding skull.  Any idea what it should be?  I envision a sorceror having a couple dozen in his knapsack when searched by guards.  

Board footera





“Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea”, “AS&SH”, and all other North Wind Adventures product names and their respective logos are trademarks of North Wind Adventures, LLC in the USA and other countries. ©2019 North Wind Adventures, LLC.