Being the Official Discussion Forum for Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea™


Visit us at the HYPERBOREA web site!

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

General Discussion » Happy Birthday, Ghul! » 5/16/2018 11:10 pm

Zulgyan
Replies: 21

Go to post

Happy Birthday! Running a Hyperborea Campaign right now and having loads of fun!

General Discussion » Lawful Evil Monk wants to worship Kthulhu » 4/19/2018 8:52 pm

Zulgyan
Replies: 3

Go to post

Great answer Ghul, thanks!

As for the CG dude worshiping Artemis, I'll consider him as a heretical or kinda "protestant" follower the deity, who takes a more flexible and free version of the official worship.

General Discussion » Lawful Evil Monk wants to worship Kthulhu » 4/19/2018 5:34 pm

Zulgyan
Replies: 3

Go to post

How would that work out? A lawful dude wants to follow an utmost chaotic deity. This looks very "Elric" to me. How would you interpret this situation?

I also have a CG Cataphract who wants to worship the lawful deity Artemis. 

Hyperborea » New Vinland » 4/19/2018 5:13 pm

Zulgyan
Replies: 4

Go to post

Has this area been developed further than what we can find in the core book? Either officially or unofficially?

General Discussion » How many are starting a new campaign with the 2nd edition? » 4/19/2018 5:06 pm

Zulgyan
Replies: 64

Go to post

I'm starting this Friday! Will be situated in New Vinland!

Swordsmen & Sorcerers » Monk: Stunning Blow, from level 1? » 4/19/2018 5:04 pm

Zulgyan
Replies: 7

Go to post

The way the text is situated on p. 68 2E, makes me doubtful if this ability is gained at level 5 or level 1. Which is correct?

Announcements » Second Edition AS&SH PDFs Released! » 9/23/2017 4:14 pm

Zulgyan
Replies: 32

Go to post

I am absolutely stunned!!!

Rules Discussion » Escaping "engaged in melee" as a spellcaster » 11/02/2016 12:33 pm

Zulgyan
Replies: 41

Go to post

Thanks for the welcome and congrats on the great game and upcoming edition, which I have gadly supported.

-2 AC is not that big of a penalty, if originally the sorcerer was to be completely impeded from spell casting!

If you can shed me some light into how this rule works right now, I would much appreciate it.

What can the sorcerer do in this cases to be able to cast spells?

Rules Discussion » Escaping "engaged in melee" as a spellcaster » 11/02/2016 1:13 am

Zulgyan
Replies: 41

Go to post

From the rulebook: "With few exceptions, spells cannot be cast if the sorcerer is engaged with an enemy".

I know this comes from Holmes, but since I always allowed casters to cast spells in the midst of melee, I'm confused in how this exactly works. Specially in the "fighter vs. magician" duel type of scenario. 

Being this game an O/AD&D derivative, I assume that action during combat it much more simultaneous than in strictly turn based combat, such as d20 D&D.

Therefor I assume that if a magician backs away from melee once engaged, his enemy will follow him at the same time, even thought it's not strictly his turn act, thus having the spellcaster effectively "locked down" by the melee combatant. 

So how does the magician escape from this lookdown, so as to be able to cast his spells? Simply 1/2 move and cast his spell by phase 2? What outs does he have?

Thanks

 

Board footera





“Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea”, “AS&SH”, and all other North Wind Adventures product names and their respective logos are trademarks of North Wind Adventures, LLC in the USA and other countries. ©2019 North Wind Adventures, LLC.