Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Being the Official Discussion Forum for Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea™


Visit us at the HYPERBOREA web site!

Check out our latest Kickstarter campaign!




You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

1/13/2018 10:54 pm  #1


Surprise

Do you always check both sides for surprise, even when one side is ambushing another?
I would generally think no, but I picked up the Oriental Adventures book for cheap and noticed that an iaido attack still checks both sides for surprise there.

Last edited by Grimmshade (1/13/2018 10:55 pm)


"But not all men seek rest and peace; some are born with the spirit of the storm in their blood" -REH
Rambling Conan Blog

 
 

1/14/2018 12:36 am  #2


Re: Surprise

Well, if one side is setting up an ambush then they are already aware of the other party, so there would be no chance for that party to surprise the ambushers.


"I, Satampra Zeiros of Uzuldaroum, shall write with my left hand, since I have no longer any other, the tale of everything that befell Tirouv Ompallios and myself in the shrine of the god Tsathoggua..."
 

1/14/2018 8:29 am  #3


Re: Surprise

Cool. That's what I have been assuming.
I saw a couple things that sounded contradictory, but it doesn't make much sense.


"But not all men seek rest and peace; some are born with the spirit of the storm in their blood" -REH
Rambling Conan Blog

 
     Thread Starter
 

1/14/2018 12:12 pm  #4


Re: Surprise

From VOL. III, p. 244: COMBAT, surprize:

The referee is at liberty to dispense with a surprize check if circumstances dictate obvious surprize or non-surprize; e.g., a pair of woolly mammoths​ tramping across the open tundra will not surprize the party.

 

1/14/2018 1:40 pm  #5


Re: Surprise

Cool, Thanks!


"But not all men seek rest and peace; some are born with the spirit of the storm in their blood" -REH
Rambling Conan Blog

 
     Thread Starter
 

Board footera

“Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea”, “AS&SH”, and all other North Wind Adventures product names and their respective logos are trademarks of North Wind Adventures, LLC in the USA and other countries. ©2018 North Wind Adventures, LLC.